Uncategorized

Catching up

Oh dear, I really am not very good at blogging consistently, but while we are still in January, I thought I would play catch up and blog my makes from December.

I needed something to wear to the company Christmas Party, a quick make with a pattern that I knew would fit.  I had a light bulb moment and decided instead of making a dress I would sew up an evening skirt and  blouse, I could wear the skirt again and again with different tops.

I found a suitable fabric online at Croft Mill, called “Days of Yore” ??, described as a good quality evening dress fabric, matt on one side and shiny like a satin on the other.  My most used skirt pattern Butterick 5466 only requires 80cm of 150cm wide fabric so at £4.50 per metre it was a bargain.  I wish I had made view B,  without the waistband which I usually use as it does fit better and I think I will change it before I wear it again.   The photo was taken after I had worn it all night so it’s a bit wrinkled.

For the blouse I decided on a sleeveless version of the Lottie Pussy bow blouse with some Crepe de Chine left over from a dress I made couple of years ago, it was such a small piece of fabric  I didn’t have enough to make the bias binding for the sleeve edges or the pussy bow, I got over this by using  black satin ready made bias binding and for the bow plain black Crepe de chine, which I think I order from Minerva Crafts.

I also made a couple of Christmas gifts.

A quilted hot water bottle cover and matching boxy bag in a lovely Liberty Tana Lawn for my sister.  Even the bag lining is Liberty! (yay for half price Liberty fabric sale)

. I trying to catch up with my blog reader and now I just need to blog about January!

3 thoughts on “Catching up

  1. Aha! There’s that Lottie pattern again. A very dramatic version in the red and black – perfect for the office party.
    The Liberty gifts must have been very welcome – so pretty.

Leave a Reply

