Blouse

Finally a Pussy Bow Blouse

Everybody in the sewing universe it seems has made a pussy bow blouse,  I have always resisted as I thought they  were just not me, but lately I have warmed to the pussy bow.

I used the Lottie Pussy Bow Blouse  pattern from Sew Simple, a freebie with Love Sewing magazine a couple of years ago and a  charity shop fabric find

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

I cut a size 14  down to a  12 around the neck.  I had to cut the neck tie in two pieces and  add a seam allowance  and join them together as I didn’t have enough fabric  left otherwise.  I  used French seams for a neat finish.  I didn’t read the instruction until I got to the stage of adding the neck tie, where if you follow the instructions you have a raw edge, I really didn’t want a untidy neck, so I enclosed the neck edge inside the neck tie, just like sewing a collar.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERAPENTAX DIGITAL CAMERAPENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s a great fit, straight out of the envelope. And I love it!!

I am already planning  a Christmas one and a sleeveless one in Liberty Lawn.

Have you ever changed your mind about a pattern and ended up loving it?

Happy Sunday

3 thoughts on “Finally a Pussy Bow Blouse

  1. Loving it! I bought the sew over it pattern (the only issue of love sewing I messed was the Lottie blouse one 😟) but haven’t got round to making yet. You’ve made me want to get mine out. It’s a perfect style for a Christmas top 🎄

  2. Yes, the Coco pattern by Tilly and the Buttons! I thought it was plain and a little basic but, with some fabulous fabric, have now found I love it! I, too, am not convinced about a Pussy Bow blouse, mainly because I’m worried the bow will get caught on the sewing machine or that I’ll forever be dipping it in my coffee:)

Leave a Reply

