Blouse · Sew Simple Chelsea Collection · Tops

Sew Simple – Chelsea Collection Blouse

Sew Simple Chelsea Collection  pattern for a skirt, trousers and blouse came free  with issue 29 of Love Sewing magazine,  I liked the look V-neck line (without the collar) of the top.

chelsea collection

The fabric requirements are very generous at  2.4m  of 60″ wide fabric, why do we  mix metric and imperial measurements in the UK?.  I had nowhere near this amount of fabric, I have had this cotton lawn from John Lewis in my stash for a couple years, left over from Vintage Blouse Pattern   blogged about in 2014!  I had nowhere near this amount of fabric more like 1.5.

By folding the selvages to meet in the middle I was able to create two folds to place the pattern pieces on.   If you used a different plain fabric for the bodice facing even less fabric would be needed.

I cut a size 14 grading out to  a 16 at the side seams and added  2.5 cm to the length, I wouldn’t normally lengthen a top because I am only 5’2″ but the pattern is designed to be tucked in and it was advised to do this if you intend to wear it loose.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

The pattern instructions are very brief, so I did my own thing, added edge stitching to the neckline, finished the bottom of the bodice facing with over edge stitch.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA
Good to know I can boil these buttons if  I want to!!

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

Using shirring elastic was new to me and I was surprised how easy it was and the instructions  for doing this bit were simple but clear.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

Although the instructions were brief it didn’t really bother me and I enjoyed sewing this blouse.   Oh and just because I wanted to I added a bias binding hem!

Anyone else made this blouse?

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Sew Simple – Chelsea Collection Blouse

  1. I haven’t made the pattern but it does look pretty and I like the look of the skirt on the pattern envelope.
    I like the level of skill indicated as ‘adventurous beginner’ 🙂

  2. I’ve got the pattern but haven’t made anything from it yet. Your top is so pretty, though, that I might think about it. I’ve never sewn with shirring elastic either:)

    1. Hi Shelly, the pattern was free with Love Sewing magazine, I have seen several on ebay for sale. I couldn’t see it on the Sew Simple website, so not sure if its available to buy.

Leave a Reply

