Made in May

I have enjoyed seeing all the MMM16 this month on blogs and IG and although nearly all my clothes are now me made I am far too lazy and camera  shy to take photos every day.

During May I have been busy sewing up the linen I ordered from Fabworks Online, 2m of each.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

New Look 6354  – View A

Capture

A quick make as I made 3 pairs last year so I knew they would fit ok.  I finished the seams with the overedge stitch on the sewing machine and bias binding on the waistband seam and hem, just because I love making  and using bias binding!

Next more trousers but this time Simplicity K1467 which was free in Sew magazinek1467

Black  linen trousers with pocket, I left off the pointless tie thingy.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

Again more bias binding!

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

Maria Denmark  Edith Dress/blouse pattern has been on my to do list for a while,there are lots of lovely versions all over the internet and I thought the Duck Egg blue linen would  made a great dress version.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

But first instead of making a toile/muslin  I decided to make the blouse version first to test the sizing. So after the usual printing and sticking  I cut out a size C40 on the neck and shoulders grading out to a size C44.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

The fabric was bought from Abakhan in Chester while on a short break last year, sold as dress fabric by weight about  £6 for around 3m, I also used this fabric for the lining of my Shawl collar jacket.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

The kimono sleeves mean its a very fabric economic pattern needing only 1 m of fabric.  Having made the blouse and being happy with the fit I cut out the dress version.

Finally found a use for nine of these button which were a gift and have been in my stash for a while.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

Although the instructions advise that the armholes can be turned under and stitched I prefer the bias bound version,  I also used bias binding on the hem.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERAPENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

This is a great pattern as long as you remember to add the seam allowance!!

I have also made two lined skirts from left over fabric this one with fabric from  the Shawl collar jacket and a brown linen one from the trouser fabric, both Butterick B5466 my most used pattern.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

May is my Birthday month and my husband bought me a lovely new shiny sewing machine.   I managed to sew all 9 buttonholes on Ethel without any problems and without holding my breath.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERAPENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

My new order of fabric has arrived, lots of jersey and sweater knits again from Fabworks online, its a good job I live so far away from the bricks and mortar fabworks!

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

Happy Sewing

 

14 thoughts on “Made in May

  1. Ooh! I really like that dress pattern and your version is gorgeous. Those buttons were made to go on that dress.
    I hope you had a good birthday – the new sewing machine must have helped with that 😉 – I love Janomes but only have a fairly basic one at the moment. I’d be interested to know how you and Ethel get on.

    • I just realised that by ‘Ethel’ you may have meant the pattern rather than the sewing machine – although the pattern is called ‘Edith’ so now I’m confused :/

      • Thanks – Yes the pattern is called Edith, that’s what happens when you write blog posts when you should have gone to bed!! I have edited the post now, thanks

  2. What a great present! I have to say that I’m very impressed with all your makes. I also like finishing with bias binding – although never with anything as fancy as yours:)

  3. Wow what a busy month. I have Edith pattern too to make a top. After seeing yours it’s going up the to do list. Love the new machine. Have fun with it K xXx

  4. Well, you have certainly been busy! Lovely makes, all of them. Especially love the piping on the trousers, and that pretty buttoned up dress. And Ethel is a grand name for a sewing machine. 🙂

  5. Lovely dress (might have to acquire that pattern as it looks so comfortable) and can’t beat pants patterns with no zip! Assume you’ve enjoyed working with FabWorks’ linen? I have a piece on its’ way & cannot wait to see it. Happy Birthday! 🎂

Leave a Reply

