Advent Calendar

I have finally finished my quilted advent calendars, I have not had much time for sewing lately, but at last they are done!  One each for my boys who both now have their own homes.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

I used Elizabeth Hartman’s pattern as featured on Sew Mama Sew  here     this is a lovely pattern with clear instructions.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

From a selection of Christmas poly-cottons  I cut 3  4 1/2″ x 4 1/2″ squares for each pocket plus 4 for back to insert the rod into, so in total 148 squares!  The linen used for the sashing is from two pairs of  old linen trousers I don’t wear anymore.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

I did make a few alterations using 1 1/2″ sashing between the pockets, quilting in straight lines (nearly) rather than free motion quilting.   I couldn’t be bothered to stitch on all those number so I cheated and cut them out in felt and stuck them on with a hot glue gun.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

 

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

 

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

The pockets  are filled with chocolate pralines and mini candy canes.

I think I will make myself one as well, but maybe year next, I have had enough of making those pockets for now! But if you are quick there is still time to make an Advent Calendar before the 1st December.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Advent Calendar

  1. I’ve ended up using mini Christmas stockings, deconstructing them & embroidering the # on them. That way they can hang off garland or tinsel – still be decorative & reusable.

Leave a Reply

