Picnic Basket

No 2 son asked me if I could make some kind of liner for his picnic basket

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

He chose this fabric from my stash, which has been languishing there for many years, I think mid 90’s.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

I used fusible fleece sandwiched between two layers of fabric.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

I was unsure what to do with the lid, traditionally it would be a board with straps to hold the plates.  Instead I used very thick cardboard from the base of  fruit box,  sandwiched between the fabric.  An elastic pocket forming storage for plates.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERAI added a very simple cutlery roll to complete the basket revamp.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERAPENTAX DIGITAL CAMERAPENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

So that’s more fabric used up that I have been hoarding for years!!

5 thoughts on “Picnic Basket

  1. I have a food hamper that we were given as a gift last Christmas and have been meaning to get around to doing exactly this ever since. Trouble is, life (and making things for other people) tends to get in the way so it’s still sat on my office floor waiting for a transformation. Love what you’ve done with yours and even better that you could use fabric from your stash.

Leave a Reply

