Last Minute Wedding Clutch

So the night before the wedding I remember that I haven’t got a suitable bag to go with my dress, I know I will make a bag, mad scrabble to find suitable  fabric in my stash.  A bag in the same fabric as the dress and jacket would be just to much.  The only suitable fabric is some home dec/curtain fabric.

I thought a clutch bag would be the most suitable and easy option.  I made a pattern and cut a front and back and front flap from the curtain fabric and the same in fusible fleece, a front and back in lining fabric and one front flap piece in dress fabric together with  a magnetic snap fastener.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

Can you see the fabric is not all cut the same way, dots go in different directions – last minute sewing!

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

The bag looked a bit plain, so I added a fabric flower. I have made these before in felt…

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

but I didn’t have any felt in a suitable colour so used scraps left over from the dress.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

And here you have the last minute wedding clutch bag

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

3 thoughts on “Last Minute Wedding Clutch

  1. I saw the clutch and took myself off to see the dress. The dress is lovely and this is the perfect compliment. I love the rose you added to tie it all together! The perfect touch! And I never would have noticed the dots going in different directions. It looks great!

Leave a Reply

