Summer Wedding Guest Dress

I was really excited to receive an invitation to my Nephew’s wedding, the perfect opportunity to sew a special dress, I don’t wear or sew dresses very often, apart from shirt dresses which I love.  After  browsing the internet for patterns and fabric for months, I just could not decide on a pattern.

Some contenders were: three in row

I finally made a decision  and ordered the fabric and zip, lining and thread with only 2 weeks before the wedding!!

Fabric arrived!

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

Cotton Poplin in a pale blue blossom print from Ebay and Habotai lining from Minerva.  I have never used Habotai before but it gave the dress a lovely luxurious feeling.

Changed my mind, again, and used  a completely different pattern, the Classic Empire Line Dress (sleeveless version)  from  a book called  Dressmaking – The complete step-by-step guide by Alison Smith.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

The pattern can be downloaded in PDF format from a website address given in the book.  There was quite a lot of printing and sticking involved, but as the book only cost £6.99 from The Works, its a bit of a bargain.

I  adjusted the pattern with a narrow shoulder adjustment, I have discovered this is something that I always need and made up a toile.  The bodice was too tight across the bust but with gaping around the armholes.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

With or without sleeves?

After quite a lot of head scratching and trying to void a FBA (full bust adjustment) I bit the bullet and altered the pattern with a 1 inch FBA and eureka it worked, no more armhole gaping.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking very creased after wearing to the wedding and long car journey back.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

As British summer weather can be very unpredictable, I made a matching jacket, New Look 6028, view with 3/4 sleeves.

jacketPENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

And what is really needed here is a picture of me wearing the dress at the wedding, but lots of  Pimms,  Pink Champagne and generally enjoying the wedding, caused me  to forgot all about taking photos of my self!!

But I did mange this to take this photo of my sisters family.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

A beautiful wedding, with the reception held in the Brides parents garden.

6 thoughts on “Summer Wedding Guest Dress

Leave a Reply

