Top · Vintage Pattern

Anchors Aweigh

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m a sucker for the nautical look, so bought this fabric on a whim as I have never used a knit before and with no pattern in mind, it sat in my sewing room for nearly a year.  With no experience of  knit or jersey fabric, and not even sure what the difference is, or are they the same thing? I read blogs with advice about sewing with stretch fabric, discovered that an overlocker is both amazing and scary.  Anyway this 1960’s pattern which I have made before  in cotton lawn, suggests jersey as a suitable fabric, so I thought it was worth having a go.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

I used a ballpoint needle and the stretch stitch on my sewing machine and the  overedge foot to finish the facings and seams.   The only problem was with the buttonholes, my machine decided it would only stitch one side of the buttonhole!!  As the opening is not necessary anyway,  I stitched it up down the back.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

Searching for Nautical buttons on ebay found these anchors.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

This top was so easy to make and comfortable to wear, its become of my favorites to wear with jeans.

7 thoughts on “Anchors Aweigh

  1. Great to see a jersey top with some structure. Looks like it has just stepped out a Boden catalogue. Congratulations on you first stretch make. I love the fine stripe and shall look out for some for myself. I am rather addicted, now I’ve tried stretch fabrics!

Leave a comment