Bag

Ethel meets Lady Sybil

The Ethel bag pattern is a free PDF download pattern from Swoon sewing patterns, as the description says “A roomy, sturdy and stylish open tote bag. With a teardrop shape, Ethel veers away from the usual boxy tote. It’s a “stuff it in and run out the door” kind of bag, designed to comfortably sling over your shoulder. There are open and zippered pockets for the small things”      –     Just what I need!

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERAPENTAX DIGITAL CAMERAPENTAX DIGITAL CAMERAThe fabric used is a quilting cotton by Makower the exterior is called Edo Willow and the lining is from the Downton Abbey range, Lady Sybil, both bargain sale purchases from my stash of quilting fabrics.

As its an American pattern the interfacings used are not available in the UK, I used fusible fleece Vilene H640 and Vilene interfacing H250 combined together and Iron-on S520 for the base.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

The only changes I made was to lengthen the straps from 18 inches to 24 and to add a key ring strap, as I can never find my keys!!

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

The combination of fusible fleece and interfacing make the bag able to stand up on it’s own.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

This is a great bag for work, there is room for all the things I need for a day at work including my lunch.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

I have been using the bag for last few days and I am really happy with it.

6 thoughts on “Ethel meets Lady Sybil

Leave a Reply

