Bags

December – Part 1 (The Weekend bag on tour)

Yet again December has gone past in a blur, and now we have the lovely time between Christmas and New Year, a few days off work and time to put my feet up.  I have spent a pleasant afternoon catching up on the blogs I follow.

My husband and I (goodness I sound like the Queen)  started December with a night in London  and of course a visit to Liberty

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

and an early morning Eurostar to Brussels for the Christmas Market and chocolate shopping.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA
Grand’ Place
PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA
Manneken Pis in one of his many outfits
PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA
Grand’ Place

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I took the weekend bag I made here, I was very pleased with the way it stood up to being dragged round trains, underground, eurostar, metro and back again.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

I also made a  matching shoulder bag, using the Trail tote free pattern  from Noddlehead,  here, again all the metal hardware, zips and fabric were recycled.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

This is an easy bag to make with good clear instructions, I slightly messed it up by not tapering the piping out before the top of the bag, which then made it difficult to top stitch.  I have hand stitched (a bit wonky in places) a running stitch with embroidery floss.

I am now going to pour myself a drink and spend a relaxing evening catching up with more blogs, cheers………..

4 thoughts on “December – Part 1 (The Weekend bag on tour)

  1. Bizarrely, I have been to Brussels and met the little Mannequin Pis, but have never stepped inside Liberty in our very own London! Must rectify that ASAP…..

  2. Lovely pics of Brussels – I’ve never been but your photos really make me want to! I have been to Liberty but not for a few years, how was it? Did you indulge in any fabric? Your bags look great, something I have yet to attempt. Well done!

    1. Thanks, I love to visit Liberty, but must admit I didn’t buy anything this time, as I would have had to take it to Brussels and back. It such a beautiful shop its always worth a visit.

Leave a Reply

