Cushions

Cushions for Garden Furniture

When we got the garden table and chairs out this summer they were looking a bit tatty, a couple of coats of teak oil  and they looked much better,  but they have never been very comfortable  chairs so I thought I would make some cushions.

 I had this home decor fabric  purchased in  Oxfam,  2 pieces one measuring 1 3/4 yards  and another measuring just under a yard The green fabric is from my stash, I have had this so long I cant remember were it came from.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

A quick visit to Dunelm for piping cord and cushion inserts, originally I planned to use ready made cushion inserts,  but as they didn’t have the size I wanted, I bought memory foam instead.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

I made up the cushion inserts from curtain lining (from stash) and stuffed them with memory foam filling. which is like foam worms with paper circles on the ends, this paper is a pain, as it  gets everywhere!

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

I made about 12 metres of bias binding from the plain green fabric and with the piping cord sandwiched between the binding,  pinned it to the right side of the front cushion piece

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

Using a zipper foot I stitched as close to the piping as possible, after I had made half the cushions I bought a piping foot which made it a bit easier and a little bit more even.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

The cushions have envelope backs.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

 

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

 I am very pleased with the finished results, adding the piping  give a nice  finish to the cushions, now what else can I add piping to………….

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

