The 2 hour dress- Simplicity 5049

How does time pass so quickly, I thought it was a while since I blogged but over 2 months  ……  but I have been sewing.

I bought a few second hand, not really old enough to be called vintage, patterns in a charity shop while on holiday in the Isle of Wight last year and this is one of them,   Image

I also bought this fabric in a small fabric shop in the town of Ryde, on on the Isle of Wight  to make it with. Its a crepe de chine at £3 a metre.

Image

I made view A.   The pattern envelope describes this a a 2 hour dress, and yes it could have been if I hadn’t had so much trouble trying to sew the bodice to the skirt, where skirt goes to a point.  It languished  in the corner of my sewing room (where I threw it) for a few weeks.   Until I picked up and tried again.  I will make it again in a smaller size and in a nice cotton.

Image

Image

 

PS I still haven’t hemmed  it yet!

3 thoughts on “The 2 hour dress- Simplicity 5049

  1. What a lovely summer dress! I share your torment on the bodice-joining issue – I’m struggling with a project I’ve been working on intermittently for weeks because I just cannot get the bodice into the pointy waistband. I think at this stage I might just turn the bottom half into a skirt and move on! Looks like you’ve gained the upper hand with this though, nice work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

